Create Healthier Schools with AFHK Grants for Healthy Kids

I am a long time fan of and volunteer for Action for Healthy Kids, which is currently welcoming schools to apply for 2014-2015 School Grants for Healthy Kids. The grants will range from $500 to $5,000 and are designed to help schools create or expand school breakfast programs, pilot universal breakfast programs or enhance their physical activity programs.

In addition to financial support, through funding from its sponsors, AFHK will provide the roughly 1,000 chosen schools with significant in-kind contributions in the form of programs, school breakfast and physical activity expertise and support to engage volunteers. The organization also will provide schools management expertise and support to develop strong alternative and universal breakfast or physical activity programs. Bottom line: Your school will get monies, support and technical assistance – a winning combo!

School Grants for Healthy Kids proven to improve school health environments

Past School Grants for Healthy Kids recipients have great stories to tell. For example: Trimble County Middle School in Bedford, Ky., reports a steady increase in their Universal Breakfast program participation and overall sick complaints/nurse visits down school-wide. Trimble County has also received compliments from the student body and notes that the breakfast program has helped ease a financial burden for families.

Universal Breakfast is a great program. I see the number of students that come through my serving line that are hungry and are not getting healthy meals at home. This is a great way to show that someone does care,” said Jackie Goode, Trimble County Middle School cafeteria manager.

A grant from School Grants for Healthy Kids can do the same for your school.

Grants will be available in select states. Award amounts will be based on building enrollment, project type, potential impact, and a school’s ability to mobilize parents and students around school wellness initiatives. Applications must be filed by May 2, 2014. The deadline will not be extended.

Learn more: If you’re interested for your school, attend an hour-long introductory webinar Thursday, March 20, 2014  at 3 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. MT and noon PT to get tips for applying. You can register.

Archived sessions also will be available. Once you have all the information you need, start the application process and apply before the May 2, 2014 deadline.

Trimble County Promote School Breakfast

Trimble County Promote School Breakfast

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s